Dawn Puster

Counselor

About Me

I am a Licensed Independent Social Worker (I.1700618) with Supervision designation in the state of Ohio. I’ve spent the last 17 years working with children and families who are facing personal life challenges. I believe individuals are the experts of their own lives, but sometimes need help navigating difficult experiences, emotions, and circumstances.

Everyone, at some point in life, experiences a challenge they struggle to overcome. It could be a loss, emotions associated with an event, a life change, or other personal struggles. Sometimes we need to learn new or more effective ways to manage those life challenges.

I have three lively boys, ages 19, 14, and 3 (yes, you read that right) and a wonderful husband. Before moving to Columbus two years ago, I spent the majority of my counseling career as the Director of Tennessee’s State-wide Emergency Crisis System for Children. I’m grateful for the opportunity I’ve had to help families through some of their most difficult and darkest times. I’ve also worked in residential settings for children and adolescents, as well as worked in the family court system in Bronx, NY.

What to Expect

 

My goal is for you to come into my office to find a non-judgmental and safe place to learn, grow and thrive. I want you to be able to say what you need to say and feel how you need to feel, without judgment. You’ll be able to leave my office feeling like you’re taking tools with you that move you in the right direction, a direction that feels good for you.

Who I Work With

 

I have experience working with children and adolescents along with their families and I have always loved doing this. My work in crisis stabilization has given me the opportunity to see inside the lives of many families in a personal way. It has been a privilege having the opportunity to help them through real challenges and see them become stronger from working through their struggles.

As a caregiver for my mother for many years, I’ve always felt compelled to work with women who juggle many roles in life. Being a full-time working mom, caregiver, student and wife among other roles has lead me in the direction of working with other women as they navigate each day’s challenges. My hope is to help other women with many competing demands, overwhelming responsibilities and other challenges they may face.

My Experience

 

I have my Master’s degree in Social Work from Columbia University.  While in New York, I worked in a community mental health center in Queens, NY and worked in family court in the Bronx. I later moved to TN where I worked with intensive in–home counseling and crisis intervention.   

I have been trained in the following areas:

My clinical specialties include: